Connecting In-school and Out-of-school STEM Learning and Teaching

Learning

Connecting In-school and Out-of-school STEM Learning and Teaching




Creative, blended educational opportunities that combine elements from traditionally separate approaches to learning—e.g., formal-plus-informal, career and technical education-plus-college preparatory—and are aligned across the scope of learning partners—result in learners gaining and building their skills in ways that work best.

Research by Adam Maltese, Robert Tai, and colleagues also shows how important out-of-school STEM experiences are at developing an interest in science, especially at the elementary school level.

Join us on Saturday, December 7th, starting at 10:00 am ET, to learn about the value of connecting in-school and out-of-school STEM activities, to hear from educators who have implemented successful programs, and to explore ways you can connect your learning environment to settings outside your building.

Date: Saturday, December 7, 2019
Time:

  • 10 am – 2 pm ET
  • 9 am – 1 pm CT
  • 8 am – 12 pm MT
  • 7 am – 11 am PT

Member price: $63
Nonmember price: $79
Attendance/Participation Certificate: $9.95

___________________________________________

See the menu for the conference agenda, presenters and other details.

The four-hour program will begin with an all-group presentation by NSTA President Dennis Schatz, followed by parallel breakout sessions where participants can explore areas of connecting in-school to out-of-school STEM learning. The program ends with an all-group session to hear potential connections identified to bridge STEM learning that happens in and out of school. In between sessions, participants will enjoy a short break to rest and login to the next session on the schedule. All sessions will be archived, allowing all registered participants the opportunity to watch ALL the presentations, including the breakouts, on-demand, when convenient.

By the end of this virtual conference, participants will be able to:

  • Understand and demonstrate to colleagues and administrators the value of connecting in-school and out-of-school STEM learning experiences.
  • Learn from practitioners in the field the lessons learned when developing and implementing programs that bridge between what happens in and out of school.
  • Identify ways to incorporate appropriate strategies into their own STEM learning opportunities for youth and educators.
  • Network with like-minded conference participants to share stories, best practices, and resources related to in-school and out-of-school collaborations.

NSTA would like to thank our partner, the Association of Science and Technology Centers, for their support in promoting this virtual conference.